Nostalgia

I haven’t finished a book in a while due to other obligations, such as work and studying. However, lately, I’ve been reading The Bad Beginning in The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. This got me thinking…I read a lot in elementary school, probably more than any other school period in my life. In fact, I read so much that it was hard to find books within my reading level that I hadn’t read already. Here are some of those books and series:

 

Image

 

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brienwas one of my favorite books. I picked it up randomly, having nothing else to read, and ever since, I’m always excited to see it anywhere. This book started my fascination with animals as characters and only added to my love for them.

 

Image

 

I remember reading all of the Nancy Drew books in the library. Our school had one row of books dedicated to just Nancy Drew. Right below those were the Hardy Boys’ Books. I never read any of the Hardy Boys series just because I thought the covers of just two boys’ faces looked kinda silly. I haven’t watched any of the movies or new series related to Nancy Drew even though I wanted to. It’s time to pick up these books again and see what I liked about them.

 

Image

 

The Ramona series also had their own shelf in our library. I read through most of them, but eventually outgrew them by sixth grade. When teachers used to ask, “Who’s your favorite author?” I’d write down Beverly Clearly. Besides Ramona, I also enjoyed the author’s Ralph S. Mouse series.

 

Image

 

Farewell to Manzanar: the book that captured my soul. I don’t remember when I read this book, but I know it was either in high school or middle school. Outside of elementary school, this is the only book that I can remember making an impact on me. Later, I used it as a basis and did research on the interment of Asian Americans during World War II. That research cultivated into a ten page research paper in 10th grade–my first ever ten page research paper.

 

 

What did you read when you were young that you can still remember?

Leave a Reply

